Latest Loan Rates

Get more out of your money with our fantastic loan rates.

New Vehicle 0.49%-0.6%
Character 1%
RORO/Used Vehicle 1%
1ST Mortgage 0.5%
2ND Mortgage 0.58%
Fully-secured 0.75%

All rates are subject to change without notice.


  • 1946: Start of Credit Union now known as TECU CREDIT UNION CO-OPERATIVE SOCIETY LTD
  • 1946: First Annual General Meeting of the Society was held
  • 1947: 1st Loan was approved, $50 for the purchase of a baby’s pram
  • 1948: 1st Dividend of 6% was declared
  • 1955: Membership climbs to 2,000. Loans granted from inception totalled $1 million in value
  • 1963: Name Change – The Society’s name was changed to TEXACO Employee’s Credit Union Co-operative Society Limited
  • 1968: Development of Beach Resort at Beaumont Estate, Mayaro
  • 1970: TECU’s first housing project at Sum Sum Hill, Claxton Bay, now Maingotville
  • 1970: The first female, Ms. Rona Huggins, was elected to a Statutory Committee
  • 1971: TECU was the recipient of the Public Service Medal of Merit (Gold)
  • 1973: Awarded CUNA Mutual Trophy—Service to Members
  • 1984: Name Change – The Society’s name was changed to TECU Credit Union Co-operative Society Limited
  • 1985: Blessing and formal opening of TECU House, Marabella and relocation of offices
  • 1996: TECU Celebrated its 50th Anniversary
  • 2002: Opening of the Couva Branch Office by the Honourable Prime Minister, Mr. Patrick Manning
  • 2006: Opening of the Point Fortin Branch Office
  • 2009: TECU launched its new Management Information System (FLEXCUBE)
  • 2009: Introduction of the LinCU Visa Debit card to the membership
  • 2016: TECU Celebrates its 70th Anniversary


In 2016, TECU Credit Union surpassed TTD $2 Billion in Assets!